Rundschreiben-Bibliothek

M&A BASICS

In the following area, NOMAS provides expertise on the subject of M&A.

 

A typical transaction process and M&A dictionary should create transparency.

Sample Sell-Side Process

The process of selling company can be divided into four phases:

 

01/

Preparation Phase

At the beginning of the sales process, the interests of the shareholders are coordinated in order to jointly define a targeted approach. We analyze your initial situation with our unique NOMAS tools. After creating an evaluation corridor, we develop an individual investment story.

On this basis, the NOMAS team creates the sales documents in form of an information memorandum, which contains a detailed presentation of your company, and a teaser for anonymous investor approach. The potential buyers are identified and analyzed with the help of our international network as well as the NOMAS tools and the NOMAS databases.

 

03/

Presentation & Due Diligence Phase

In the management presentation your company will be presented, a site visit will take place and specific questions will be clarified. There is also an initial exchange about potential framework conditions and strategic development potential. The acquirers are then required to submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) confirming the indicative offer. After a detailed analysis and internal coordination, it is determined which acquirers will be admitted to the due diligence.

02/

Approach Phase

The selection of buyers is presented as a short and long list and coordinated with you. With the teaser, NOMAS addresses the potential acquirer and, if interested, concludes a confidentiality agreement (NDA). The information memorandum is now made available on this basis. As soon as the investor decides to participate in the further process, we ask him to submit an indicative offer (non-binding offer). After analyzing the indicative offers, a group of investors with whom one goes to the management presentations is determined.

 

 

04/

Negotiation & Final Phase

Once the due diligence has been successfully completed, a binding offer is submitted by the acquisitioners. After checking and weighing the different offers, the final buyer is determined. The sales contract is then drawn up. After final and exclusive negotiations with the buyer, the purchase contract is signed and notarized (signing). With the occurrence of all agreed conditions, the transfer of ownership (closing) is completed by the notary. NOMAS is still available to you after the successful transaction to guarantee a smooth transition process.

"Transparency and knowledge form the basis for a successful cooperation"

Andreas Schwegler, Managing Partner

M&A Dictionary
Binding Offer

 

 

 

Binding Offer

-

The binding offer is a binding offer from a prospective buyer.

Buy and Build 

 

Buy and Build 

-

Buy and Build is a growth strategy in which companies with complementary or complementary business models are acquired in order to consolidate fragmented markets and thereby exploit economies of scale and competitive advantages.

Buy Side

 

 

 

Buy Side 

-

The side which wants to purchase a company is called buy side.

Carve Out 

 

 

Carve Out

-

In the M&A business, the term carve out means that a company sells or splits off individual business areas or parts of the company.

Closing Actions 

Closing Actions

-

The closing actions are actions that are carried out through the execution of the purchase contract (payment of the purchase price, for example)

Corporate Finance

Corporate Finance

-
 Corporate finance includes a number of sophisticated corporate finance instruments and the directly related or independent advisory services provided by credit institutions.

Discounted cash flow method

 

Discounted cash flow method

-

The discounted cash flow method is used to determine the value of a company. A company's free cash flow is discounted using a corresponding interest rate. In addition, a distinction is made between the gross and the net method in the discounted cash flow method.

Due Diligence

 

Due Diligence 

-

Due diligence plays an important role in an M&A transaction. During due diligence, companies or individuals are thoroughly analyzed for economic, tax, financial and legal aspects.

Family Office

 

Family Office 

-

A family office is the management of the private assets of one or more families. Often, the capital is used to invest in companies.

Information Memorandum (IM)

Information memorandum

-

The IM is a written draft that contains all of the company's important information and is created as part of an M&A transaction and made available to other companies or investors. As it contains confidential information, it will only be sent to interested parties or investors after the Non Disclosure Agreement  and the Letter of Intents have been signed.

NBO

 

 

Non-binding offer

-

The NBO is an initial non-binding offer that confirms interest in acquiring the company at a certain price.

LBI

 

Leveraged buy-in 

-

A leveraged buy-in occurs when an external management takes over a company and the takeover was mainly financed by outside capital.

LBO

 

 

Leveraged buy-out 

-

A leveraged buyout is the predominantly debt-financed takeover of a company.

LOI

Letter of Intent

-

The Letter of Intent is a non-binding declaration of intent between contractual partners, which provides information that the partners are in contractual negotiations. No legal claims can be derived from the letter of intent.

Long List / Short List 

Long List
Short List

-

Selection of possible investors for a company purchase or sale.

M & A

Mergers & Acquisitions 

-

M&A refers to all processes and steps that arise when buying or selling companies or company shares. In addition, M&A deals with topics such as the financing of company acquisitions, the establishment of joint ventures and the acquisition of companies.

MBI

 

 

Management buy-in 

-

At an MBI, a company is taken over by an external management.

MBO

 

 

Management buyout 

-

A management buyout is the takeover of a company by its own management.

Multiples

 

Multiples

-

Multiples are often used to evaluate a company. With this method, the value of a company is determined by multiplying certain key figures (e.g. EBITDA, EBIT, sales) by a special factor.

NDA

 

Non Disclosure Agreement

-

A Non Disclosure Agreement is an agreement between different parties about the obligation of confidentiality of all written and oral information relating to a specific project or company.

Private Equity

 

 

Private equity

-

Private equity that is used to invest in OTC companies.

Process Letter

Process Letter

-

The process letter is usually created by the M&A consultant and is sent to the prospective buyer. It usually contains the conditions for potential buyers and includes the procedural steps of the transaction process.

Sell Side

 

 

 

 

Sell Side

-

The side which wants to sell its company is called the sell side.

Signing/Closing

 

Signing 
Closing 

-

When the respective parties sign the purchase / sale contract in an M&A transaction, this is known as signing. However, the transaction will only be concluded once all the necessary and possibly suspensive conditions have been met. This is then called closing.

Spin Off

 

 

 

Spin off 

-

A spin-off is the outsourcing of a business unit to an independent company.

Teaser

Teaser 

-

The investment teaser is a short, anonymous document that draws the attention of potential buyers to the sale / purchase of a particular company and contains the most important information about the company. The teaser is the first approach to potential buyers / sellers and no confidentiality declaration is required.

Venture Capital

 

Venture capital

-

Venture capital is capital that is made available to young and usually innovative companies. This form of participation involves high risk for investors, but also high growth opportunities.

Rundschreiben-Bibliothek

M&A GRUNDLAGEN

Im folgenden Bereich stellt NOMAS Fachwissen zum Thema M&A zur Verfügung.

 

Ein idealtypischer Transaktionsprozess und ein Begriffslexikon sollen Transparenz schaffen.

Musterverkaufsprozess

Der Prozess des Unternehmensverkaufs lässt sich in vier Phasen einteilen:

 

01/

Vorbereitungsphase

Zu Beginn des Verkaufsprozesses werden die Gesellschafterinteressen abgestimmt, um gemeinsam ein zielgerichtetes Vorgehen festzulegen. Mit unseren einzigartigen NOMAS-Tools analysieren wir Ihre Ausgangssituation. Nach Erstellung eines Bewertungskorridors entwickeln wir eine individuelle Investment-Story.

Das NOMAS Team erstellt auf dieser Grundlage die Verkaufsunterlagen in Form eines Informationsmemorandums, das eine detaillierte Vorstellung Ihres Unternehmens beinhaltet, und eines Teasers für die anonyme Investorensprache. Die potentiellen Erwerber werden mithilfe unseres internationalen Netzwerkes sowie den NOMAS-Tools und der NOMAS-Datenbanken identifiziert und analysiert.

03/

Vorstellungs- & Prüfungsphase

In der Management Präsentation wird Ihr Unternehmen vorgestellt, es findet ein Site Visit statt und es werden spezifische Fragen geklärt. Dazu gibt es einen ersten Austausch über potenzielle Rahmenbedingungen und strategischen Entwicklungspotenziale. Anschließend sind die Erwerber angehalten einen Letter of Intent (LOI) einzureichen, der das indikative Angebot bestätigt. Nach detaillierter Analyse und interner Abstimmung wird festgelegt, welche Erwerber zur Due Diligence zugelassen werden.

02/

Ansprachephase

Die Auswahl der Erwerber wird als Short- und Long-List dargestellt und mit Ihnen gemeinsam abgestimmt. Mit dem Teaser spricht NOMAS die potentielle Erwerber an und schließt bei Interesse eine Vertraulichkeitsvereinbarung (NDA) ab. Auf dieser Basis wird nun das Informationsmemorandum zur Verfügung gestellt. Sobald sich der Investor nach interner Prüfung dazu entscheidet am weiteren Prozess teilzunehmen, bitten wir Ihn ein indikatives Angebot (Non Binding Offer) abzugeben. Nach der Analyse der indikativen Angebote wird ein Kreis derer festgelegt, mit denen man in die Management Präsentationen geht.

04/

Verhandlungs- & Abschlussphase

Nach erfolgreich abgeschlossener Due Diligence wird ein Binding Offer von den Erwerben abgegeben. Nach Prüfung und gemeinsamer Abwägung wird der finale Erwerber ermittelt. Anschließend wird der Kaufvertrag aufgesetzt. Nach finalen und exklusiven Verhandlungen mit dem Erwerber wird der Kaufvertrag unterzeichnet und notariell beurkundet (Signing). Mit Eintritt aller vereinbarten Bedingungen der Eigentumsübergang (Closing) durch den Notar vollzogen. NOMAS steht Ihnen nach der erfolgreichen Transaktion weiterhin zur Verfügung, um einen reibungslosen Übergangsprozess zu garantieren.

"Transparenz und Wissen bilden die Grundlagen für eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit"

Andreas Schwegler, Managing Partner

Begriffslexikon

Binding Offer

 

 

 

Binding Offer = Bindendes Angebot

-

Bei dem Binding Offer handelt es sich um ein verbindliches Gebot eines Kaufinteressenten.

Buy and Build 

 

Buy and Build = Kaufen und (Aus-)Bauen

-

Buy and Build ist eine Wachstumsstrategie, bei der Unternehmen mit komplementären oder auch ergänzenden Geschäftsmodellen akquiriert werden, um fragmentierte Märkte zu konsolidieren und dadurch Skaleneffekte und Wettbewerbsvorteile ausgenutzt werden. 

Buy Side

 

 

 

Buy Side = Käuferseite

-

Die Käuferseite einer M&A Transaktion wird Buy Side genannt.

Carve Out 

 

 

Carve Out = „Herausschnitzen von Eigenkapital“

-

Der Begriff carve out bedeutet im M&A Geschäft, dass ein Unternehmen einzelne Geschäftsbereiche oder Unternehmensteile veräußert bzw. abspaltet.  

Closing Actions 

 

 

Closing Actions = Abschlusshandlungen

-

Bei den Closing Actions handelt es sich um Handlungen, die durch den Vollzug des Kaufvertrages durchgeführt werden (Zahlung des Kaufpreises z.B.)
 

Corporate Finance

Corporate Finance = Unternehmensfinanzierung

-
Der Begriff Corporate Finance bedeutet im Deutschen Unternehmensfinanzierung. Zu Corporate Finance gehören eine Reihe anspruchsvoller Instrumente der Unternehmensfinanzierung und die damit in direktem Zusammenhang stehenden oder eigenständigen Beratungsdienstleistungen von Kreditinstituten. 

Discounted Cash-Flow Verfahren

 

Discounted Cash-Flow Verfahren

-

Das Discounted Cash-Flow Verfahren wird genutzt, um den Wert eines Unternehmens zu ermitteln. Dabei wird der Free Cash-Flow eines Unternehmens mit einem entsprechenden Zinssatz diskontiert (abgezinst). Zusätzlich unterscheidet man beim Discounted Cash-Flow Verfahren zwischen der Brutto- und der Nettomethode. 

Due Diligence

 

Due Diligence = Sorgfältige Prüfung eines zum Verkauf stehenden Unternehmens

-

Im Rahmen einer M&A Transaktion nimmt das Due Diligence eine wichtige Rolle ein. Beim Due Diligence werden Unternehmen oder Personen gründlich auf wirtschaftliche, steuerliche, finanzielle und rechtliche Aspekte analysiert. 

Family Office

 

Family Office = Verwaltung familienzugehörigem Vermögen

-

Unter einem Family Office versteht man die Verwaltung des Privatvermögens einer oder mehrerer Familien. Oft wird ein Teil des Kapitals für die Beteiligung an Unternehmen verwendet. 
 

Information Memorandum (IM)

Information Memorandum = Informationsmemorandum

-

Das IM ist eine schriftliche Ausarbeitung, die alle wichtigen Informationen des Unternehmens enthält und wird im Rahmen einer M&A Transaktion erstellt und anderen Unternehmen oder Investoren zur Verfügung gestellt. Da es vertrauliche Informationen enthält, wird es Interessenten oder Investoren erst nach der Unterzeichnung des Non Disclosure Agreements und des Letter of Intents zugesendet. 

Indikatives Angebot (NBO)

 

 

Non Binding Offer = Indivatives Angebot

-

Das NBO ist ein erstes unverbindliches Angebot, mit dem das Interesse das Unternehmen zu einem bestimmten Preis zu erwerben, bestätigt wird. 
 

LBI

 

Leveraged Buy-in = Externe fremdkapitalfinanzierte Übernahme

-

Ein Leveraged Buyin liegt vor, wenn ein externes Management ein Unternehmen übernimmt und die Übernahme hauptsächlich durch Fremdkapital finanziert wurde. 

LBO

 

 

Leveraged Buy-out = Fremdfinanzierte Übernahme

-

Unter einem Leveraged Buyout versteht man die überwiegend fremdkapitalfinanzierte Übernahme eines Unternehmens. 

LOI

 

Letter of Intent = Absichtserklärung

-

Bei dem Letter of Intent handelt es sich um eine unverbindliche Absichtserklärung zwischen Vertragspartnern, die darüber Aufschluss gibt, dass die Partner in Vertragsverhandlungen stehen. Aus dem Letter of Intent lassen sich keinerlei Rechtsansprüche herleiten. 

Long List / Short List 

 

 

 

Long List = Lange Liste
Short List = Kurze Liste

-

Auswahl möglicher Investoren für einen Unternehmenskauf oder -verkauf.

M & A

M&A = Mergers & Acquisitions (Fusionen und Kauf von Unternehmen bzw. Unternehmensanteilen)

-

M&A bezeichnet damit alle Vorgänge, die beim Kauf oder Verkauf von Unternehmen bzw. Unternehmensanteilen entstehen. Des Weiteren werden beim M&A Themen wie die Finanzierung des Unternehmenskaufs, die Gründung von Gemeinschaftsunternehmen sowie Übernahmen von Unternehmen behandelt. 

MBI

 

 

Management Buy-in = Externe Management Übernahme

-

Die Übernahme eines Unternehmens erfolgt beim MBI durch ein externes Management.
 

MBO

 

 

Management Buyout = Management Übernahme

-

Unter einem Management Buyout versteht man die Übernahme eines Unternehmens durch das eigene Management. 

Multiples

 

Multiples = Multiplikatoren

-

Multiplikatoren werden häufig zur Bewertung eines Unternehmens eingesetzt. Bei dieser Methode wird der Wert eines Unternehmens durch die Multiplikation bestimmter Kennzahlen (z.B. EBITDA, EBIT, Umsatz) mit einem speziellen Faktor ermittelt.

NDA

 

Non Disclosure Agreement = Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung

-

Ein Non Disclosure Agreement ist eine Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung zwischen verschiedenen Parteien über alle schriftlichen sowie mündlichen Informationen, die ein bestimmtes Projekt oder Unternehmen betreffen.

Private Equity

 

 

Private Equity  = Privates Beteiligungskapital

-

Eigenkapital, das zur Beteiligung an außerbörslichen Unternehmen verwendet wird.
 

Process Letter

 

Process Letter = Prozessbrief

-

Der Prozessbrief wird üblicherweise vom M&A Berater erstellt und wird an die Kaufinteressenten versendet. Er beinhaltet in der Regel die Bedingungen für potenzielle Käufer und umfasst die Verfahrensschritte des Transaktionsprozesses.  

Sell Side

 

 

 

 

Sell Side = Verkaufsseite

-

Die Verkäuferseite wird Sell Side genannt. 

Signing/Closing

 

Signing = Unterzeichnung    des Kaufvertrags
Closing = Abschluss der Transaktion

-

Unterschreiben bei einer M&A Transaktion die jeweiligen Parteien den Kauf-/ Verkaufsvertrag spricht man vom Signing. Der Abschluss der Transaktion ist aber erst mit der Erfüllung aller erforderlichen und eventuell aufschiebenden Bedingungen erreicht. Dies wird dann als Closing bezeichnet. 

Spin Off

 

 

 

Spin Off = Ausgliederung

-

Ein Spin off ist die Ausgliederung eines Geschäftsbereichs in ein selbstständiges Unternehmen.

Teaser

Teaser = Anonymes Exposé

-

Der Investment Teaser ist ein kurzes anonymes Dokument, welches potentielle Interessenten über den Verkauf/Kauf des bestimmten Unternehmens aufmerksam macht und die wichtigsten Informationen über das Unternehmen enthält. Der Teaser ist die erste Ansprache möglicher Käufer/Verkäufer und es bedarf zur Übersendung keiner Vertraulichkeitserklärung.

Venture Capital

 

Venture Capital = Risikokapital, Wagniskapital

-

Unter Venture Capital versteht man Kapital, das jungen und in der Regel innovativen Unternehmen zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Diese Form der Beteiligung birgt für die Investoren hohe Risiken, aber auch hohe Wachstumschancen.